Subscribe to: Newsletter      Comments      News

The 10th iteration of The Radio Awards will see a new category introduced in 2020:  the Station Manager’s Choice award.

“Innovation and inclusivity are what make The Radio Awards a respected, relevant fixture on the industry’s calendar,” says Taryn Westoby, head of events for Arena Holdings. “We’ve been guided by The Radio Awards’ new advisory board, key industry stakeholders, and active input from the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB). We’re excited to deliver on their recommendations.”


The Station Manager’s Choice award will be the first of its kind for the SA radio industry, and has been created to recognise those individuals – the unsung heroes – who have previously not had the opportunity to be acknowledged for their contributions in previous years of The Radio Awards.

“The important feature of the Station Manager’s Choice award is that anyone who works behind-the-scenes – and is not on air – is eligible.  It could be a PA, a member of the finance department, a sales executive, or someone who brings unique energy and positivity to the work environment, in support of the on-air talent and station management. A nomination from the Station Manager is a huge sign of appreciation for the work that they do,” says Westoby.


Station Managers who wish to acknowledge an employee that captures the essence of the station and who goes beyond the call of duty, are invited to make their Station Manager’s Choice nominations via an online portal when entries open on 3 February 2020.


Further details will follow in coming weeks, but Station Managers are encouraged to start their considerations in the meantime. “It’s possibly worthwhile creating an internal station feedback process to select the individual the Station Manager should nominate,” says Westoby.



Mark these dates!

  • 20 November 2019 – general category entries have opened

  • 24 January 2020 – general category entries close

  • 3 February 2020 – Station Manager’s Choice nominations open

  • 18 April 2020 – The Radio Awards gala dinner


For enquiries about The Radio Awards 2020 entries, please contact Phila Nkanunu on | 011 340 9465


Did you like this? Share it:

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Joanne Josephs bids farewell to 702

Station Manager Thabisile Mbete says Joanne has contributed to, and shaped, important social and political narratives in SA Talk Radio […]

Call for entries for the 4th Annual Gagasi FM Shero Awards opens

The Gagasi FM Shero Awards are back. Now in its fourth year, the awards celebrate extraordinary women who push boundaries […]

YFM launches topical talk show Perspective on Y

The show will focus on bringing about change and driving solutions through conversations. The first and second episodes will unpack […]

SAfm makes changes to its 2020 line-up

The South African Broadcasting Corporation’s (SABC) talk radio station SAfm, remains the only national talk radio station with the largest […]



For more information on COVID-19 and government regulation: Click here